Peabody Awards (Event Series)

1 like ·
Main Details
Please login to post content on this page.
Peabody Awards
Alternative Name Peabody Award
Start Date 19 May 2014
Year Start 1949
Year End 2014
Subcategory Awards Event
Award Event Type Television/Broadcasting Awards
view all »

The George Foster Peabody Awards (Peabody Awards) recognize distinguished and meritorious public service by radio and television stations, networks, producing organizations and individuals. In 1939, the National Association of Broadcasters formed a committee to recognize outstanding achievement in radio broadcasting. Committee member Lambdin Kay, manager of WSB Radio in Atlanta, thought the award would be more credible if it were academically sanctioned and independently administered. He approached John E. Drewry of the University of Georgia’s Henry W. Grady School of Journalism, who enthusiastically endorsed the idea. The Peabody Award was established in 1940 with the school, now the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, as its permanent home.


17 Lists »
Peabody Awards appears in the following lists:

Peabody Awards
Photo Credit: Germeruda

Top Contributors

See All »
Thank you to the following people for keeping this profile up-to-date.
Sarakarimi116 Sarakarimi1.. 1 point
Would you like to contribute? Register »