Independent Spirit Awards

Independent Spirit Awards (Event Series)

1 like ·
Please login to post content on this page.
Alternative Name Film Independent Spirit Awards
Start Date 1 March 2014
Year Start 1986
Year End 2014
Subcategory Awards Event
Award Event Type Film Awards
Official Websites
view all »

The Independent Spirit Awards (abbreviated "Spirit Awards" and originally known as the FINDIE or Friends of Independents Awards), founded in 1984, are awards dedicated to independent filmmakers. Winners were typically presented with acrylic glass pyramids containing suspended shoestrings representing the bare budgets of independent films. Since 2006, winners have received a metal trophy depicting a bird with its wings spread sitting atop of a pole with the shoestrings from the previous design wrapped around the pole.

Home  >  Awards

Independent Spirit Awards

Award Events

Awards and Award Categories


10 Lists »
Independent Spirit Awards appears in the following lists:

Top Contributors

See All »
Thank you to the following people for keeping this profile up-to-date.
wdweditorial wdweditorial 7 points
Angelweb Angelweb 1 point
Would you like to contribute? Register »