Golden Apple Awards (Event Series)

Main Details
Please login to post content on this page.
Add Profile Photo
Alternative Name Golden Apple Award
Year Start 1941
Year End 2001
Subcategory Awards Event
view all »

The Golden Apple Award was an American award presented to entertainers by the Hollywood Women's Press Club, usually in recognition not of performance, but of behavior. The award was presented from 1941 until 2001, when the Hollywood Women's Press Club became inactive. The awards ceremony included Golden Apples to recognize actors for being easy to work with, as well as the Sour Apple Award (not presented in some years) chastising actors for being rude or difficult. Winners of the former include Bob Hope (1941) and Mae West (1969), and winners of the latter include Frank Sinatra (1946, 1951, and 1974), Elvis Presley (1966) Joan Rivers (1983), and Dale Robertson (3 times).


5 Lists »
Golden Apple Awards appears in the following lists:

Top Contributors

See All »
Thank you to the following people for keeping this profile up-to-date.
Would you like to contribute? Register »