S · M

Defunct professional sports leagues in the United States

This list has 6 sub-lists and 109 members. See also Defunct sports leagues in the United States, Professional sports leagues in the United States
  • Women's Professional Soccer
     0    0
    rank #1 ·
    Women's Professional Soccer (WPS) was the top level professional women's soccer league in the United States. It began play on March 29, 2009. The league was composed of seven teams for its first two seasons and fielded six teams for the 2011 season, with continued plans for future expansion. The WPS was the highest level in the United States soccer pyramid for the women's game.
  • American Football League
    American Football League Professional football league that merged with National Football League in 1970
     0    0
    rank #2 ·
    The American Football League (AFL) was a major professional American football league that operated for ten seasons from 1960 until 1969, when it merged with the older National Football League (NFL). The upstart AFL operated in direct competition with the more established NFL throughout its existence. It was more successful than earlier rivals to the NFL with the same name, the American Football League (1926), American Football League (1936), American Football League (1940), and the later All-America Football Conference [(1944–1950), played 1946–1949].
  • World Hockey Association
    World Hockey Association Defunct ice hockey major league from 1972 to 1979
     0    0
    rank #3 ·
    The World Hockey Association (French: Association mondiale de hockey) was a professional ice hockey major league that operated in North America from 1972 to 1979. It was the first major league to compete with the National Hockey League (NHL) since the collapse of the Western Hockey League in 1926. Although the WHA was not the first league since that time to attempt to challenge the NHL's supremacy, it was by far the most successful in the modern era.
  • American Basketball Association
     0    0
    rank #4 ·
    The original American Basketball Association (ABA) was a men's professional basketball league, from 1967 to 1976. The ABA ceased to exist with the American Basketball Association–National Basketball Association merger in 1976, leading several teams to join the National Basketball Association and the introduction of the 3-point shot in the NBA.
  • Women's Professional Basketball League Women's professional basketball league in the United States
     0    0
    rank #5 ·
    The Women's Professional Basketball League (abbreviated WBL) was a professional women's basketball league in the United States. The league played three seasons from the fall of 1978 to the spring of 1981. The league was the first professional women's basketball league in the United States.
  • National Professional Basketball League (2007–08)
     0    0
    rank #6 ·
    The National Professional Basketball League, often abbreviated to the NPBL, was an American men's professional basketball minor league featuring teams from the East Coast of the United States which played for two seasons.
  • New York State League
     0    0
    rank #7 ·
    The New York State League was an independent baseball league that played six seasons between 2007 and 2012 in the New York City metro area. Over 500 NYSL players have been signed by professional teams. Players from forty-eight states and eleven countries have competed in the league. The NYSL was the developmental league for the Can-Am League. Its level of play was self-described as being on par with the lowest level of minor league baseball, the complex-based "rookie" leagues (it explicitly compared its format to that of the Gulf Coast League). The total of 7 teams were the Blue Sox, Capitals, Colonials, Empires, Federals, Hudsons and Robins, were spread out in New York state like in Albany (the Capitals who folded first); and in the last seasons, the rest were all in New York City.
  • Continental Basketball League
     0    0
    rank #8 ·
    The Continental Basketball League (CBL) was a men's basketball minor league in the United States that began play in April 2010. The league is headquartered in Florida.
  • Southern League (baseball)
     0    0
    rank #9 ·
    The Southern League is a Minor League Baseball league that operates in the Southern United States. Classified a Double-A league, it is headquartered in the Atlanta suburb of Marietta. The league acquired its name in 1964, after the South Atlantic League, which had started in 1936, renamed itself to Southern League.
  • Eastern League (baseball)
     0    0
    rank #10 ·
    The Eastern League is a Minor League Baseball league, which operates primarily in the northeastern United States, although it has had a team in Ohio since 1989. The Eastern League has played at the Double-A level since 1963. The league was founded in 1923, as the New York–Pennsylvania League. In 1936, the first team outside the two original states was created, when the York White Roses of York, Pennsylvania, moved to Trenton, New Jersey, and was renamed the Trenton Senators. In 1938, when the Scranton Miners of Scranton, Pennsylvania, moved to Hartford, Connecticut, and became the Hartford Bees, the league was renamed the Eastern League.
Desktop | Mobile
This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 0.30 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2022, FamousFix