S · M

Defunct ice hockey leagues in the United States

This list has 34 sub-lists and 36 members. See also Defunct ice hockey leagues, Defunct sports leagues in the United States, Ice hockey leagues in the United States
  • United States Amateur Hockey Association
    United States Amateur Hockey Association Ice hockey governing body in the U.S.
     0    0
    rank #1 ·
    The United States Amateur Hockey Association was an ice hockey governing body in the United States from 1920 to 1925, which operated at an amateur level. The league was filled with predominantly Canadian-born players, but struggled to achieve consistent attendance figures in the days before large arenas with artificial ice. The association disbanded in 1925, with some teams eventually joining the American Hockey Association, and one team joining the National Hockey League.
  • All American Hockey League (2008–2011)
     0    0
    rank #2 ·
    The All American Hockey League (AAHL) was a lower level professional ice hockey league with teams in the Midwestern United States. The league suspended operations for the 2011–12 season and subsequently folded.
  • Midwest Hockey League
     0    0
    rank #3 ·
    The Midwest Hockey League (MWHL) was a short-lived proposed low level minor pro hockey league that was scheduled to begin play in the 2009-2010 season. The league administrative office was located in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
  • South East Hockey League
     0    0
    rank #4 ·
    The South East Hockey League was a minor ice hockey league formed in August 2003. It succeeded the short-lived Atlantic Coast Hockey League and had 4 teams for its first and only season. Jim Riggs was the commissioner.
  • International Professional Hockey League
     0    0
    rank #5 ·
    The International Professional Hockey League (IPHL) was the first fully professional Ice hockey league, operating from 1904 to 1907. It was formed by Jack 'Doc' Gibson, a dentist who played hockey throughout Ontario before settling in Houghton, Michigan. The IPHL was a five team circuit which included Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, Calumet, Michigan and Houghton. The IPHL was instrumental in changing the nature of top-level senior men's ice hockey from amateur to professional.
  • Southern Hockey League (1973–1977)
    Southern Hockey League (1973–1977) American minor level ice hockey league
     0    0
    rank #6 ·
    The Southern Hockey League was a low-level minor professional ice hockey league that operated from 1973 to 1977. The league was formed when the Eastern Hockey League split in two; the southern teams became the Southern Hockey League, and the northern teams became the North American Hockey League. It was the first professional hockey league to operate wholly within the Southern United States, and followed the establishment of the Atlanta Flames in the National Hockey League; and also the Richmond Robins and the Tidewater Wings in the American Hockey League. The Southern Hockey League was a feeder league for the recently started World Hockey Association. Tedd Munchak was appointed the league's first commissioner, and was owner of the Greensboro Generals. The championship trophy of the league was named the James Crockett Cup, after local figure Jim Crockett Sr. The league disbanded during its fourth season, when four of its seven teams folded due to financial issues.
  • United Hockey League
     0    0
    rank #7 ·
    The United Hockey League (UHL), originally known as the Colonial Hockey League from 1991 to 1997 and last known as the International Hockey League from 2007 to 2010, was a low-level minor professional ice hockey league, with teams in the United States and Canada. The league was headquartered in Rochester, Michigan, and, in its last year, consisted of seven teams. It folded in 2010, with most of its teams joining the Central Hockey League. The Central Hockey League teams still operating in 2014 were then added to ECHL. The only former CoHL/UHL/IHL teams still active as of 2018 are the Fort Wayne Komets and Kalamazoo Wings.
  • Baltimore Hockey League
     0    0
    rank #8 ·
    The Baltimore Hockey League (BHL), was an early and short-lived amateur ice hockey league founded in 1896 and existing for two seasons in Baltimore, Maryland, United States in 1896–97 and 1897–98. The league included teams from Johns Hopkins University, Maryland Athletic Club, Northampton Hockey Club, University of Maryland and Walbrook Athletic Club and operated at the North Avenue Ice Palace at North Avenue in Baltimore. The teams played for the Northampton Hockey Trophy, presented by J. L. Filon.
  • Central Hockey League
     0    0
    rank #9 ·
    The Central Hockey League (CHL) was a North American mid-level minor professional ice hockey league which operated from 1992 until 2014. Until 2013, it was owned by Global Entertainment Corporation, at which point it was purchased by the individual franchise owners. As of the end of its final season in 2014, three of the 30 National Hockey League teams had affiliations with the CHL: the Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, and Tampa Bay Lightning.
  • World Hockey Association
    World Hockey Association Defunct ice hockey major league from 1972 to 1979
     0    0
    rank #10 ·
    The World Hockey Association (French: Association mondiale de hockey) was a professional ice hockey major league that operated in North America from 1972 to 1979. It was the first major league to compete with the National Hockey League (NHL) since the collapse of the Western Hockey League in 1926. Although the WHA was not the first league since that time to attempt to challenge the NHL's supremacy, it was by far the most successful in the modern era.
Desktop | Mobile
This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 2.42 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2022, FamousFix