S · M

1959 British novels

This list has 59 members. See also 1959 novels, 1959 in the United Kingdom, 20th-century British novels, British novels by year
  • Cat Among the Pigeons
    Cat Among the Pigeons Agatha Christie's Poirot episode
     0    0
    rank #1 · 8
    Cat Among the Pigeons is a work of detective fiction by Agatha Christie, first published in the UK by the Collins Crime Club on 2 November 1959, and in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company in March 1960 with a copyright date of 1959. The UK edition retailed at twelve shillings and sixpence (12/6), and the US edition at $2.95.
  • The World in My Pocket (novel)
     0    0
    rank #2 ·
    The World in My Pocket is a 1959 thriller novel by the British writer James Hadley Chase.
  • The Rescuers (book)
     0    0
    rank #3 ·
    The Rescuers is a British children's novel written by Margery Sharp and illustrated by Garth Williams; its first edition was published in 1959 by Collins in the United Kingdom and Little, Brown in the United States. The novel is the first in a series of stories about Miss Bianca, a socialite mouse who volunteered to lend assistance to people and animals in danger.
  • Echo in the Skull
     0    0
    rank #4 ·
    Echo in the Skull is a science-fiction novel by British novelist John Brunner, first published in the United States by Ace Books as part of Ace Double #D-385. In 1974 Brunner had an expanded version of the story published as Give Warning to the World.
  • The Borrowers Afloat
     0    0
    rank #5 ·
    The Borrowers Afloat is a children's fantasy novel by Mary Norton, published in 1959 by Dent in the UK and Harcourt in the US. It was the third of five books in a series that is usually called The Borrowers, inaugurated by The Borrowers in 1952.
  • Whistle Down the Wind (novel)
     0    0
    rank #6 ·
    Whistle Down the Wind was a novella written by Mary Hayley Bell and illustrated by Owen Edwards. It was published in 1959 by Boardman and retailed for 12 shillings and sixpence (62½p). The central characters are three children — Swallow, Brat and Poor Baby. The story of the Great Secret is told by Brat.
  • The Last Valley (novel)
     0    0
    rank #7 ·
    The Last Valley (1959), by J. B. Pick, is an historical novel about the Thirty Years' War (1618–1648). The story occurs from September 1637 to March 1638, and centres on two men – a mercenary soldier and an intellectual – who are fleeing the destruction and starvation wrought by religious war. In southern Germany, each man stumbles upon a fertile valley untouched by the war. Soldier and intellectual, man of arms and man of mind, must collaborate to preserve the peace and plenty of the last valley from the stress and strain of the religious bigotry that caused thirty years of war in Europe.
  • The River at Green Knowe
     0    0
    rank #8 ·
    The River at Green Knowe is a children's novel written by Lucy M. Boston, first published in 1959. It is part of the Green Knowe series, and is the third published in the sequence.
  • A Thread of Scarlet
     0    0
    rank #9 ·
    A Thread of Scarlet (also known as Satan and Cardinal Campbell) is a 1959 novel by Scottish writer Bruce Marshall.
  • False Scent
    False Scent Topic
     0    0
    rank #10 ·
    False Scent is a detective novel by Ngaio Marsh; it is the twenty-first novel to feature Roderick Alleyn, and was first published in 1960. The plot concerns the murder of an aging stage actress, and continues Marsh's fascination with the theater and with acting.
Desktop | Mobile
This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 0.28 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2022, FamousFix