5     1
Main Details

Please login to post content on this page.
Sonata Arctica
photo credit: Kakar2r
Alternative Name Tricky Beans (1995–1996)
Tricky Means (1996–1999)
Group Members Tommy Portimo
Tony Kakko
Henrik Klingenberg
Elias Viljanen
Pasi Kauppinen
Past Group Members Jani Liimatainen
Pentti Peura
Janne Kivilahti
Mikko Härkin
Marko Paasikoski
Music Genre (Text) Power metal
symphonic metal
progressive metal
Music Genre Rock
Origin Kemi, Finland
Year(s) Active 1995−present
Record Label Spinefarm
Nuclear Blast
Official Websites sonataarctica.info
Associated Acts Northern Kings
Silent Voices
Cain's Offering
view all »

Sonata Arctica is a Finnish power metal band from the town of Kemi, Finland. Created as a hard rock band named Tricky Beans, they later changed to Tricky Means and finally to Sonata Arctica, when they shifted to power metal. They often include symphonic metal elements, and their later releases contain several elements typical of progressive metal, as well. The current line-up consists of singer, keyboardist and songwriter Tony Kakko, guitarist Elias Viljanen, bass guitarist Pasi Kauppinen, keyboardist and keytarist Henrik Klingenberg, and drummer Tommy Portimo. All the musicians of the band's history except Portimo also acted as backing vocalists.

Band Members


220 Songs »
1 Replica 2016
2 Fullmoon 2016
3 Kingdom For a Heart 2016
4 Tallulah 2001
5 My Land 2016
6 8Th Commandment 2016
7 Black Sheep 2001
8 Letter To Dana 2016
9 Victoria's Secret 2020
10 Last Drop Falls 2001
* Approximate (assumes song was released same year as the album it was first released on)


19 Lists »
Sonata Arctica appears in the following lists:

Top Contributors

See All »
Thank you to the following people for keeping this profile up-to-date.
Kakar2r Kakar2r 47 points
Katherine_GR Katherine_GR 11 points
eviltwins eviltwins 9 points
dannutz dannutz 1 point
Would you like to contribute? Register »

Related Searches

More »
Desktop | Mobile
Terms of Use · Copyright · Privacy
© 2006-17, FamousFix · loaded in 0.33s