Main Details

Please login to post content on this page.
photo credit: thriftstore..
Alternative Name Bounty Hunters
Group Members Wayne Kramer
Dennis Thompson
Handsome Dick Manitoba
Past Group Members See: Members
Music Genre (Text) Rock
garage rock
hard rock
blues rock
Music Genre Pop/Rock
Detroit Rock
Origin Detroit, Michigan, United States
Year(s) Active 1964–1972, 1992, 2003–2012
Record Label Elektra
Associated Acts Destroy All Monsters
Sonic's Rendezvous Band
The New Order
New Race
view all »

MC5 was an American rock band from Lincoln Park, Michigan, formed in 1964. The original band line-up consisted of vocalist Rob Tyner, guitarists Wayne Kramer and Fred "Sonic" Smith, bassist Michael Davis, and drummer Dennis Thompson. "Crystallizing the counterculture movement at its most volatile and threatening", according to AllMusic critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine, the MC5's far left political ties and anti-establishment lyrics and music positioned them as emerging innovators of the punk movement in the United States. Their loud, energetic style of back-to-basics rock and roll included elements of garage rock, hard rock, blues rock, and psychedelic rock but were not known for including fuzz elements.

View More
Desktop | Mobile
Terms of Use · Copyright · Privacy
© 2006-17, FamousFix · loaded in 0.09s