Dave Matthews Band (Band)

 3     0
Main Details

Please login to post content on this page.
Dave Matthews Band
photo credit: Lis_fc
Alternative Name DMB
Group Members Dave Matthews
Carter Beauford
Stefan Lessard
Boyd Tinsley
Tim Reynolds
Rashawn Ross
Jeff Coffin
Past Group Members LeRoi Moore †
Peter Griesar
Butch Taylor
Music Genre (Text) Rock
jazz fusion
folk rock
funk rock
pop rock
alternative rock
Origin Charlottesville, Virginia, US
Year(s) Active 1991–present
Record Label RCA (US)
V2 (international)
Official Websites davematthewsband.com
Associated Acts The Revivalists
Dave Matthews & Friends
Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds
Béla Fleck and the Flecktones
view all »

Dave Matthews Band (often abbreviated to DMB) is an American rock band that was formed in Charlottesville, Virginia in 1991. The founding members were singer-songwriter and guitarist Dave Matthews, bassist Stefan Lessard, drummer/backing vocalist Carter Beauford and saxophonist LeRoi Moore. Boyd Tinsley was added to the band as a violinist soon after the band was formed. Moore died suddenly in August 2008 due to complications from injuries sustained in an ATV accident. Grammy Award-winner Jeff Coffin (of Béla Fleck and the Flecktones) has since filled Moore's spot as the band's saxophonist. Rashawn Ross and Tim Reynolds have also become full-time members of the band. The band's 2009 album Big Whiskey & the GrooGrux King (the first album since Moore's death) debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, earning the band their fifth consecutive number-one debut. Their most recent album, Away from the World, released September 29, 2012, debuted at number one on the Billboard chart — making them the only group to have six consecutive studio albums debut in the top spot. As of 2010, the Dave Matthews Band has sold over 30 million records worldwide.

Band Members


62 Credits »
2010 JBTV Band
2010 Hawaii Five-0 -
2009 Community -
2009 CHIKARA King of Trios 2009- Night II -
2009 CHIKARA King of Trios 2009 Night III -
2009 CHIKARA Three-Fisted Tales -
2008 Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk -
2007 The Hitcher -
2007 The Kingdom -
2007 Bionic Woman -
2006 Comeback Season -


551 Songs »
1 I Did It 2001
2 Angel 2001
3 If I Had It All 2001
4 What You Are 2003
5 All Along The Watchtower 1997
6 Granny 2004
7 #40 1999
8 Long Black Veil 1999
9 Cortez The Killer 2003
10 True Reflections 1999
* Approximate (assumes song was released same year as the album it was first released on)


2 Awards »
Nominated for 2 Awards

In The News

49 Stories »


23 Lists »
Dave Matthews Band appears in the following lists:

Top Contributors

See All »
Thank you to the following people for keeping this profile up-to-date.
angel_angel angel_angel 71 points
Lis_fc Lis_fc 59 points
halfgoofy halfgoofy 2 points
olivia_kempner olivia_kemp.. 1 point
particularwave particularw.. 1 point
Would you like to contribute? Register »

Related Searches

More »
Desktop | Mobile
Terms of Use · Copyright · Privacy
© 2006-17, FamousFix · loaded in 0.64s