Women in Saskatchewan politics

Posted May 30, 2011
The list "Women in Saskatchewan politics" has been viewed 1 time.
This list has 1 sub-list and 20 members.

  1. Women MLAs in Saskatchewan

    Women MLAs in Saskatchewan

     - 40 members

    show more

  1. Pamela Wallin

    Pamela Wallin


    Pamela Wallin, OC SOM (born April 10, 1953) is a former Canadian television journalist and diplomat. On January 2, 2009, she was appointed to the Canadian Senate, where she sat as a Conservative until May 17, 2013 when she decided to leave the caucus until an audit into her expense claims was complete. On November 5, 2013 the Senate voted to suspend Wallin without pay for two years for alleged theft from the public purse.

  2. Sylvia Fedoruk

    Sylvia Fedoruk


    Sylvia Olga Fedoruk [Fe-doruk], (Ukrainian: Федорук), OC SOM (May 5, 1927 – September 26, 2012) was a Canadian physicist, medical physicist, curler and the 17th Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan.

  3. Delia Opekokew

    Delia Opekokew


    Delia Opekokew is a Canadian lawyer. A Cree from the Canoe Lake First Nation in Saskatchewan, she was the first First Nations lawyer ever admitted to the bar association in Ontario and in Saskatchewan, as well as the first woman ever to run for the leadership of the Assembly of First Nations.

  4. Raynell Andreychuk

    Raynell Andreychuk


    Anita Raynell Andreychuk (born August 14, 1944) is a Canadian Senator, lawyer, and former judge and diplomat.

  5. Georgette Sheridan

    Georgette Sheridan


    Georgette Anne Sheridan (born 12 June 1952) is a Canadian lawyer and politician from Saskatchewan.

  6. Lillian Dyck

    Lillian Dyck


    Lillian Eva Quan Dyck (born August 24, 1945) is a Canadian senator from Saskatchewan. She was appointed to the Senate on the recommendation of Prime Minister Paul Martin on March 24, 2005.

  7. Larissa Shasko

    Larissa Shasko


    Larissa Shasko is a Canadian politician and the current Leader of the Green Party of Saskatchewan, elected in April 2009 at the AGM. Shasko is a student at the University of Regina where she is studying Political Science. In addition to her work with the GPS she is also an active member of the Green Party of Canada. She is serving as a Councilor at Large and as the Finance and Administrative Chair with the Young Greens Council. Shasko has been a candidate for the Green Party three times in the past three years, twice federally in the riding of Palliser (2006 & 2008), and once provincially in the riding of Moose Jaw Wakamow (2007).

  8. Pana Merchant

    Pana Merchant


    Pana Pappas Merchant (born April 2, 1943) is a Liberal Senator from the Canadian province of Saskatchewan. A teacher and business woman, Mrs. Merchant has played an active role in cultural, political, and advocacy groups in Saskatchewan. Her charitable and volunteer work has been with Canadian Parents for French, Immigrant Women, and the CWL. She is a past Board Member of the Canadian Race Relations Foundation (1996–2002); The MacKenzie Art Gallery Volunteers; and the Regina Volunteer centre.

  9. Tiffany Paulsen

    Tiffany Paulsen


    Tiffany M. Paulsen is a Canadian politician and lawyer from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. She is currently a lawyer with the firm of Robertson Stromberg Pedersen LLP. She holds degrees in psychology, French and law from the University of Saskatchewan.

  10. Denise Batters

    Denise Batters


    Denise Leanne Batters (born June 18, 1970) is a Canadian politician, who was named to the Senate of Canada to represent Saskatchewan on January 25, 2013. She is a member of the Conservative Party of Canada.

  11. Amber Jones

    Amber Jones


    Amber Jones is the former leader of the Green Party of Saskatchewan serving in this office from 2008 until 2009. Jones is a graduate of the University of Saskatchewan. She also unsuccessfully ran for the federal Green party in the 2008 federal election in the riding of Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar. She placed third out of seven candidates winning 1,228 votes losing to Conservative party nominee, Kelly Block.

  12. Eloise Jones

    Eloise Jones


    Eloise May Jones (née Shaver; September 7, 1917 – March 8, 2004) was a Canadian politician, who represented the electoral district of Saskatoon in the Canadian House of Commons from 1964 to 1965.

  13. Sandra Finley

    Sandra Finley


    Sandra Finley is the former leader of the Green Party of Saskatchewan. She was leader from 2006-2008.

  14. Georgina Jolibois

    Georgina Jolibois


    Georgina Jolibois (born 1968) is a Canadian politician, who was elected to represent the riding of Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River in the House of Commons of Canada in the Canadian federal election, 2015.

  15. Vaughn Solomon Schofield

    Vaughn Solomon Schofield


    Vaughn Solomon Schofield, SOM SVM (born October 25, 1943) is the 21st and current Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan. Her appointment as Lieutenant Governor was made by Governor General of Canada David Lloyd Johnston on the Constitutional advice of Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper on March 6, 2012, to succeed Gordon Barnhart. Solomon Schofield was sworn in on March 22, 2012 at the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. She is the viceregal representative of Queen Elizabeth II of Canada in the Province of Saskatchewan. Solomon Schofield is a strong supporter of the Canadian Forces, and stated during her installation that the military will be her focus during her term. Her affection for the Forces stemmed from her time as Provincial Chair of the Canadian Forces Liaison Council, a position she was appointed to in January 2006. Solomon Schofield also holds the title of Honorary Colonel of 38 Service Battalion, which is part of 38 Canadian Brigade Group.

  16. Kelly Block

    Kelly Block


    Kelly Block (born November 30, 1961) is a Canadian politician who was elected to represent the electoral district of Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar in the 2008 Canadian federal election. Prior to her election to the House of Commons, Block served two terms as mayor of Waldheim, Saskatchewan. Block was Waldheim's first female mayor, and also served as chairperson of the Gabriel Springs Health District. Block was later appointed to the Saskatoon Regional Health Authority when the government of Saskatchewan amalgamated its health districts. Block ran unsuccessfully for the Saskatchewan Party nomination for the provincial Martensville constituency by-election in November 2006 against Nancy Heppner.

  17. Nettie Wiebe

    Nettie Wiebe


    Nettie Wiebe is a Canadian professor, born January 22, 1949. She grew up near Warman, Saskatchewan. She has a BA and MA in Philosophy from the University of Saskatchewan and a Ph.D in Philosophy from the University of Calgary.

  18. Gladys Strum

    Gladys Strum

    1 view

    Gladys Grace Mae Strum (February 4, 1906 – August 15, 2005) was a Canadian politician.

  19. Carol Skelton

    Carol Skelton


    Carol Skelton, PC (born December 12, 1945 in Biggar, Saskatchewan) is a Canadian politician. She is a member of the Security Intelligence Review Committee which oversees the operation of Canadian Security Intelligence Service. She formerly served as Member of Parliament from 2000 to 2008, and was the Minister of National Revenue from 2006 to 2007.

  20. Dorise Nielsen

    Dorise Nielsen


    Dorise Winifred Webber Nielsen (July 30, 1902 – December 9, 1980) was a Canadian communist politician, feminist and teacher.

Desktop | Mobile
This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 0.55 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2016, FamousFix