Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special

Posted May 4, 2011
The list "Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special" has been viewed 2 times.
This list has 15 members.

  1. Tom Hanks

    Tom Hanks


    Thomas Jeffrey Hanks (born July 9, 1956) is an American actor and filmmaker. He is known for his roles in Big (1988), Philadelphia (1993), Forrest Gump (1994), Apollo 13 (1995), Saving Private Ryan, You've Got Mail (both 1998), The Green Mile (1999), Cast Away (2000), The Da Vinci Code (2006), Captain Phillips, and Saving Mr. Banks (both 2013), as well as for his voice work in the animated films The Polar Express (2004) and the Toy Story series.

  2. Mike Nichols

    Mike Nichols


    Mike Nichols (born Mikhail Igor Peschkowsky; November 6, 1931 – November 19, 2014) was a German-born American film and theatre director, producer, actor and comedian. He was noted for his ability to work across a range of genres and an aptitude for getting the best out of actors regardless of their acting experience. Nichols began his career in the 1950s with the comedy improvisational troupe, The Compass Players, predecessor of The Second City, in Chicago. He then teamed up with his improv partner, Elaine May, to form the comedy duo Nichols and May. Their live improv acts were a hit on Broadway resulting in three albums, with their debut album winning a Grammy Award.

  3. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins


    Stephen Hopkins (born in 1958) is a Jamaican-born film and television director and producer. He directed Predator 2, Blown Away and the critically acclaimed The Life and Death of Peter Sellers. He also produced and directed several episodes of the critically acclaimed first season of 24.

  4. Jay Roach

    Jay Roach


    Matthew Jay Roach (born June 14, 1957) is an American film director, producer and screenwriter, best known for directing the Austin Powers films and Meet the Parents. He also directed the comedy film Dinner for Schmucks (2010), the HBO political dramas Recount (2008) and Game Change (2012), and the political comedy The Campaign (2012). His twelfth film, the biographical drama Trumbo, will be released on November 6, 2015.

  5. Tom Hooper

    Tom Hooper


    Thomas George "Tom" Hooper (born 5 October 1972) is a British film and television director of English and Australian background. Hooper began making short films at the age of 13, and had his first professional short, Painted Faces, broadcast on Channel 4 in 1992. At Oxford University Hooper directed plays and television commercials. After graduating, he directed episodes of Quayside, Byker Grove, EastEnders and Cold Feet.

  6. David Frankel

    David Frankel


    David Frankel (born April 2, 1959) is an American film director, screenwriter and producer. He is best known for directing The Devil Wears Prada.

  7. Mikael Salomon

    Mikael Salomon


    Mikael Salomon (born 24 February 1955) is a Danish film director, cinematographer and producer. After a long cinematography career in Danish cinema, he transitioned to the Hollywood film industry in the late 1980s and has remained highly prolific there. He has been Oscar nominated twice.

  8. Richard Loncraine

    Richard Loncraine


    Richard Loncraine (born 20 October 1946) is a British film and television director.

  9. Phil Alden Robinson

    Phil Alden Robinson


    Phil Alden Robinson (born March 1, 1950) is an American film director and screenwriter whose films include Field of Dreams, Sneakers and The Sum of All Fears.

  10. David Nutter

    David Nutter


    David Nutter (born 1960) is an American television and film director and television producer. He is best known for directing pilot episodes for television. In 2015, he received a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series, for his work on the HBO series, Game of Thrones.

  11. Mick Jackson

    Mick Jackson


    Mick Jackson (born 4 October 1943, Grays, England, United Kingdom) is a British film director and television producer. Between 1973 and 1987, Jackson directed many documentary and drama productions for BBC TV and Channel 4. Relocating to Hollywood, he directed feature films, including The Bodyguard starring Kevin Costner and Whitney Houston. In 2010, Jackson won an Emmy for Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special for the dramatised biographical TV film Temple Grandin.

  12. Steven Schachter

    Steven Schachter


    Steven Schachter is an American television, theatre, and film director and screenwriter.

  13. Philip Martin

    Philip Martin


    Philip Martin is a television director and screenwriter.

  14. David Leland

    David Leland


    David Leland (born 20 April 1947) is a director, screenwriter and actor who came to international fame with his directorial debut Wish You Were Here in 1987.

  15. Tony To

    Tony To

    1 view

    Tony To is a television producer and director. He is best known for producing and also directing for the HBO mini-series Band of Brothers, for which he won an Emmy Award. To later returned to produce and direct for the 2010 companion miniseries The Pacific. He has also directed episodes of House and Harsh Realm.

Desktop | Mobile
This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 0.28 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2016, FamousFix