Paisley Park Records albums

Posted 4 years ago
The list "Paisley Park Records albums" has been viewed 2 times.
This list has 2 sub-lists and 11 members.

  1. Lovesexy

    Lovesexy (1988)


    Lovesexy is the tenth studio album by American recording artist Prince. The album was released on May 10, 1988 by Paisley Park Records and Warner Bros. Records, a little over a year after Prince's previous studio album, Sign o' the Times, which received critical praise and a Grammy nomination for Album of the Year. Lovesexy received mixed reviews; it was issued as a substitute record after the release of the infamous The Black Album. The album was recorded in just seven weeks, from mid-December 1987 to late January 1988, at Prince's new Paisley Park Records, and most of the album is a solo effort from Prince, with a few exceptions. The opening track, "Eye No", was recorded with the full band (Miko Weaver on guitar, Levi Seacer, Jr. on bass, Doctor Fink and Boni Boyer on keyboards, Eric Leeds on saxophone, Atlanta Bliss on trumpet and Sheila E. on drums). Sheila E., in fact, plays drums on several tracks and sings backup, along with Boyer. Leeds and Bliss provide horns on most tracks, and Ingrid Chavez provides the intro to "Eye No". The album is designed to be heard in the context of a continuous sequence: LP pressings split the album in two side-long tracks, without visual bands to indicate individual songs. Similarly, early CD copies of Lovesexy have the entire album in sequence as a single track, though some later editions have it as nine separate tracks.

  2. Diamonds and Pearls

    Diamonds and Pearls (1991)


    Diamonds and Pearls is the thirteenth studio album by American recording artist Prince, released October 1, 1991, on Paisley Park Records. It is his first album to have the New Power Generation, his backing band at the time, receive co-billing. The album produced several hit singles, including "Gett Off", "Cream", "Money Don't Matter 2 Night", "Insatiable", and the title track. Dancers Lori Werner (then dancing under the stage name of Lori Elle) and Robia LaMorte, known as "Diamond" and "Pearl" respectively, are featured on the holographic cover (re-pressings of the album are non-holographic). Diamond and Pearl also appeared in the music videos for "Cream", "Strollin'", "Gett Off", and the title track, and also participated in Prince's Diamonds and Pearls tour.

  3. Around the World in a Day

    Around the World in a Day (2007)


    Around the World in a Day is the seventh studio album by American recording artist Prince and The Revolution. It was released on April 22, 1985 by Paisley Park Records and Warner Bros. Records. In compliance with Prince's wishes, the record company released the album with minimal publicity, not even releasing an accompanying single until almost a full month after the album's release. Prince made the request because he preferred the public to first experience the record in its entirety rather than through any particular song.

  4. Sign O' the Times

    Sign O' the Times (2007)


    Sign o' the Times, stylized as Sign "☮" the Times, is the ninth studio album by American recording artist Prince. It was released on March 31, 1987 by Paisley Park Records and Warner Bros. Records. The album is the follow-up to Parade (1986), and Prince's first "solo" album following his departure from The Revolution; the symbol between the quotes is a peace sign. The songs were largely recorded during 1986 to 1987 in sessions for albums Prince ultimately aborted—Dream Factory, Camille, and Crystal Ball.

  5. Romance 1600

    Romance 1600 (1985)


    Romance 1600 is the second album from singer-drummer-percussionist Sheila E.. Although Prince wrote and played on the whole album, other than the instrumental "Merci for the Speed of a Mad Clown in Summer", the only track he is credited for openly on the album sleeve itself is "A Love Bizarre", which was co-written and produced with Sheila E. and is a duet between the pair. The song, a 12-minute epic, became a major hit in its edited radio-friendly form.

  6. Love Symbol Album

    Love Symbol Album


    is the fourteenth studio album by American recording artist Prince, released October 13, 1992 on Paisley Park and Warner Bros. Records. Due to its official title being an unpronounceable symbol, which Prince later adopted as his name, the album has been referred to as the Love Symbol Album, Symbol Album, or simply Symbol. It is Prince's second album to feature his backing group, The New Power Generation, which received co-billing for the release. The album contains elements of musical styles including funk, R&B, hip hop, jazz, reggae, and synthpop. It has sold over five million copies worldwide.

  7. Sheila E

    Sheila E (1905)


    Sheila E. is the third solo album from Sheila E., released on Paisley Park Records.

  8. The Cinderella Theory

    The Cinderella Theory (1989)


    The Cinderella Theory is the fifth studio album by American funk musician George Clinton, released August 2, 1989 on Paisley Park Records. It was released three years after his previous studio effort, R&B Skeletons in the Closet, which was his last album for Capitol Records. The Cinderella Theory represented a comeback of sorts for Clinton, who had been largely absent from the pop music scene since his last album for Capitol. The album was produced by Clinton for Baby Clinton Inc.

  9. Hey Man ... Smell My Finger

    Hey Man ... Smell My Finger (1905)


    Hey, Man, Smell My Finger is the sixth studio album by American funk musician George Clinton, released October 12, 1993 on Paisley Park Records. It is Clinton's second and last release for the Paisley Park label, owned by Prince. The album features an array of musical guests including Prince, Dallas Austin, Humpty Hump from Digital Underground, Ice Cube, N'Dea Davenport, Dr. Dre, and Herbie Hancock, as well P-Funk alumni including Bootsy Collins, Bernie Worrell, Maceo Parker, and Fred Wesley. Hey, Man, Smell My Finger furthers Clinton's incorporation of hip hop elements such as electronically produced beats, rapping by Clinton, and sampling of older P-Funk material.

  10. Pandemonium

    Pandemonium (1905)


    Pandemonium is a 1990 album by The Time. Much like the three previous albums, the album consists of music in the funk-pop or ballad genre, although this album breaks the 6-song album tradition. The album is a tie-in with the film Graffiti Bridge and several songs from the album appear in the film.

  11. Time Waits for No One

    Time Waits for No One (1989)


    Time Waits for No One is the seventh album by American soul singer Mavis Staples. The album was her first on Prince's Paisley Park Records label and was released on May 24, 1989. The album includes six Prince-penned songs and two songs written by Homer Banks and Lester Snell. Shortly after this album, she continued her collaboration with Prince. In September 1989, she recorded the song "Melody Cool" which would appear in the 1990 movie Graffiti Bridge, as well as on its soundtrack, and on her 1993 follow-up album The Voice.

Desktop | Mobile
This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 0.14 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2015, FamousFix