Americans associated with the Church of the Nazarene

Posted May 4, 2011
The list "Americans associated with the Church of the Nazarene" has been viewed 5 times.
This list has 17 members.

  1. Thomas Kinkade

    Thomas Kinkade


    William Thomas Kinkade III (January 19, 1958 – April 6, 2012) was an American painter of popular realistic, pastoral, and idyllic subjects. He is notable for the mass marketing of his work as printed reproductions and other licensed products via the Thomas Kinkade Company. He characterized himself as "Thomas Kinkade, Painter of Light," a phrase he protected through trademark but one originally attributed to the English master J. M. W. Turner (1775–1851). It has been estimated that 1 in every 20 American homes owns a copy of one of his paintings.

  2. Edwin Edwards

    Edwin Edwards


    Edwin Washington Edwards (born August 7, 1927) is an American politician and member of the Democratic Party who served as the U.S. Representative for Louisiana's 7th congressional district from 1965 to 1972 and as the 50th Governor of Louisiana for four terms (1972–1980, 1984–1988 and 1992–1996), twice as many elected terms as any other Louisiana chief executive. He served a total of sixteen years in office, the sixth-longest serving gubernatorial tenure in post-Constitutional U.S. history at 5,784 days.

  3. Edward S. Mann

    Edward S. Mann


    Edward Stebbins Mann (1908–2005) was the president of the Eastern Nazarene College.

  4. Stephen W. Nease

    Stephen W. Nease


    Stephen Wesley Nease (January 15, 1925 – April 6, 2006) was an educator and president of four different institutions of higher education. He was the father of two daughters, Linda Scott and Melissa Wallace; four sons, Floyd Nease (Representative to the Vermont State House and Majority Leader), Stephen Nease, Jr., David Hardy Nease (who died at the age of 9), and David Wayne Nease.

  5. H. Orton Wiley

    H. Orton Wiley


    Henry Orton Wiley (1877–1961) was a Christian theologian primarily associated with the followers of John Wesley who are part of the Holiness movement. A member of the Church of the Nazarene, his "magnum opus" was the three volume systematic theology Christian Theology (ISBN 0-8341-0332-X).

  6. A. Gordon Wetmore

    A. Gordon Wetmore


    Arnold Gordon Wetmore is president emeritus of the Nazarene Theological Seminary and a former president of the Northwest Nazarene College.

  7. Evelyn Witthoff

    Evelyn Witthoff


    Evelyn M. Witthoff (Born March 30, 1912 in Chicago, Illinois, United States - died 2002) was a medical doctor, missionary for the Church of the Nazarene, civilian internee, and author.

  8. Howard Hendrick

    Howard Hendrick


    Howard Hendrick (born December 22, 1954) is a Republican politician from the U.S. state of Oklahoma. Hendrick was serving as the Oklahoma Secretary of Human Services, having been appointed by Democratic Governor of Oklahoma Brad Henry in 2003.

  9. H. Ray Dunning

    H. Ray Dunning


    H. Ray Dunning (born October 26, 1926 in Clarksville, Tennessee, USA) is a theologian in the Church of the Nazarene and retired professor of theology at Trevecca Nazarene University. He earned a Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University in 1969. Dunning is the author of many books, including Grace, Faith and Holiness. He is a past President (1985) of the Wesleyan Theological Society.

  10. William Howard Hoople

    William Howard Hoople


    William Howard Hoople (August 6, 1868 – September 29, 1922) was an American businessman and religious figure. He was a prominent leader of the American Holiness movement; the co-founder of the Association of Pentecostal Churches of America, one of the antecedent groups that merged to create the Church of the Nazarene; rescue mission organizer; an ordained minister in the Church of the Nazarene, and first superintendent of the New York District of the Church of the Nazarene; YMCA worker; baritone gospel singer; successful businessman and investor; and inventor.

  11. Lyman C. Pettit

    Lyman C. Pettit

    1 view

    Lyman C. Pettit (October 1868 in Northumberland, New York – March 8, 1950 in Lockport, New York) was the founder and first president of the Pentecostal Collegiate Institute (now Eastern Nazarene College); the founding pastor of both the Congregational Methodist Church of Saratoga Springs, and the First People's Church of Brooklyn, New York; and an ordained clergyman who pastored churches in the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Association of Pentecostal Churches of America (a forerunner to the Church of the Nazarene), and the Presbyterian Church in the United States of America.

  12. Kenneth H. Pearsall

    Kenneth H. Pearsall


    Kenneth H. Pearsall (1918–1999) was president of the Northwest Nazarene College from 1973 to 1983.

  13. Riley Ingram

    Riley Ingram


    Riley Edward Ingram (born October 1, 1941) is an American politician. Since 1992 he has served in the Virginia House of Delegates, representing the 62nd district east of Richmond, made up of parts of Chesterfield, Henrico and Prince George Counties and the city of Hopewell. He is a member of the Republican Party.

  14. Jim Bunn

    Jim Bunn


    James Lee Bunn (born December 12, 1956) is an American politician from Oregon. A native of Yamhill County, he served in the Oregon State Senate before election to the United States House of Representatives where he served one term. A Republican, he now works as a correctional officer for the county.

  15. J. Kenneth Grider

    J. Kenneth Grider

    1 view

    J. Kenneth Grider (1921 – December 6, 2006) was a Nazarene Christian theologian and former seminary professor primarily associated with the followers of John Wesley who are part of the Holiness movement. A member of the Church of the Nazarene, he graduated from the Nazarene Theological Seminary in 1947 and received his PhD from the University of Glasgow in 1952. His "magnum opus" is the 1994 book A Wesleyan-Holiness Theology (ISBN 0-8341-1512-3). Long active in Wesleyan circles, he taught at the Nazarene Theological Seminary for 38 years and was also one of the translators of the New International Version of the Bible.

  16. Phill Kline

    Phill Kline

    1 view

    Phillip D. "Phill" Kline (born December 31, 1959) is a former Kansas state legislator (1992-2000), former district attorney of Johnson County, and the Attorney General of Kansas from January 2003 to January 2007. Kline, a member of the Republican Party, lost re-election as attorney general to Democratic challenger, Johnson County District Attorney Paul Morrison, on November 7, 2006, 58%-41%. Having been appointed by the Republican County Central Committee over Steve Howe to fill the vacancy left by Paul Morrison's election as Kansas Attorney General, Kline became the district attorney of Johnson County on the day he left office as attorney general, essentially switching jobs with Morrison. Kline then ran for a full term as district attorney, but was defeated by Howe in the August 5, 2008, Republican primary.

  17. Kenny Marchant

    Kenny Marchant

    1 view

    Kenny Ewell Marchant (born February 23, 1951) is the U.S. Representative for Texas's 24th congressional district, serving since 2005. He is a member of the Republican Party. The district includes several areas around Dallas and Fort Worth.

Desktop | Mobile
This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 0.31 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2016, FamousFix